Knitting in Abu Dhabi

Before I moved to Abu Dhabi, I was really worried that I wouldn’t have anyone to knit with, so being me, I googled “knitting Abu Dhabi”. Sure enough, Charmaine’s blog popped up. Long story short, we now have a knitting group! We agreed to meet every second Friday of the month at the Caribou Coffee in Marina Mall. We expected about 4 people including me to show up, but I think we forgot that September 12 fell during Ramadan and that Caribou, like all eating public eating places, would be closed. I was really nervous about going to meet everyone; all I knew was that Charmaine had blonde hair so I figured I’d just find a blonde haired woman with an Australian accent and ask her if she liked to knit. Easy right? Actually, it really was that easy. Charmaine was easy to spot because during Ramadan, everything is shut down in the daytime including Caribou Coffee. So when I saw a pretty blonde lady in front of Caribou Coffee, I figured I was in the right place.

I’m really excited about our group; there are five of us: Charmaine, Lindsey, Sydney, Eva, and me. We are a motley crew. Poor Charmaine, surrounded by all these Yankees! Sydney is currently the funniest member of the group: she doesn’t knit or crochet, she just showed up because it sounded like fun; isn’t that great? Just as we were getting comfy, the security guards at Marina Mall told us we had to move because gathering in front of an eating place during Ramadan is not permitted. I don’t know if that is actually true, but I think he figured that a bunch of giggling women with pointy things and yarn in their hand were up to no good and were just loitering; all he knew was that he wanted us out of the way. We eventually moved to some benches nearby and started to show each other our WIPs (works in progress), completed projects, and knitted happily away. I think this is going to be a lot of fun, if only we can find a name for ourselves. We want the name to be one that welcomes anyone who likes yarn but to also reflect that we are Abu Dhabi yarn lovers. Our next meeting is October 10.

Last but not least, happy birthday Mom!

Leave a comment